A Grade Vehicle Inspections / Automotive servicing, repairs and mechanics

Is A Grade Vehicle Inspections your business?

A Grade Vehicle Inspections is unregistered. Before hiring them, consider these registered businesses nearby:

  • 100%
    "Unsure why many of these reviews are so nasty.. we have had nothing short of an amazing experience with Ken. On our first inspection he found the vehicle to be completely sub-par, even though it was from a dealer! Second vehicle wasnt perfect but he advised the problems werent too bad. We have gone ahead with the purchase and couldnt be happier! Highly recommend!!"
    Rating by: Stacey  |  Rating posted: 14th Sep  |  Contact: Ken  |  Job date: Sep, 2017
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    14th SepMore details…
  • 100%
    "Ken is an awesome mechanic who knows more about cars than anyone iv ever meet, from looking at the other comments on this page he might not come across as the most polite guy around but If you can get past that then you can rest assured knowing he is the best mechanic to be doing your pre purchase inspection"
    Rating by: Will  |  Rating posted: 16th May  |  Contact: Ken Thomas  |  Job date: May, 2017
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    16th MayMore details…
  • 98%
    "Just letting you know that the service we received from booking the inspection to receiving the report was excellent.

    The man on the phone was very pleasant and he followed up by phone just as I was told he would and hos manner was also very pleasant.

    I wouldn’t hesitate in using your company again.
    "

    Rating by: Kevin  |  Rating posted: 28th Apr  |  Contact: Ken  |  Job date: Feb, 2017
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 90%
    28th AprMore details…
  • 0%
    "The worst customer service I have received. Unfortunately, I see other people have responded about Ken and their dealings with him. I found him rude and not forthcoming about the whole service he was providing. He was more concerned in getting my credit card details at first for the service. He actually called back saying I had given him the wrong details and I had to give them out again. The inspection was done within a few hours. I returned to the car yard and was told Ken had finished his inspection. He had to call him and ask him to send the report to me. Ken did not offer any dialogue or feedback on his inspection at all. He had completed the form and a couple of extremely brief areas that needed monitoring. Later I noticed I had been charged $161 when Ken had said it was $140 earlier. I rang again and was told in no uncertain terms he had been clear that the initial price excluded GST, on the inspection doc it includes GST. I was then subject to a verbal tirade from Ken who started raising his voice, talking over the top of me and refused to listen to me. He said that he had recorded the previous phone conversation and he had been doing this for 35 years and knew what he had told me. I challenged him on his attitude and rudeness to customers. This made things worse and again I was yelled at and told I was wrong and that I was the one that was rude. I had to end the call. Amazingly, he tried calling back a few minutes later, to which my partner said I wasn't home. Given his attitude to me, I question his attitude to his job and this reflects on how I rate the whole service. He said I would not get a better service, I don't think that would be hard. Some respect to customers and getting a reality check may go some way. The customer is paying for the service and deserves to be treated with respect. I don't know if Ken is the owner of this business, if so this is totally unacceptable. If he is employed by the owner, this would warrant gross misconduct."
    Rating by: Matt  |  Rating posted: 14th May, 2016  |  Contact: Ken  |  Job date: May, 2016
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 0%  |  Value: 0%
    14th May, 2016More details…
  • 0%
    "Worst service I have experienced with any company ever. Engaged A Grade to complete an inspection on a car I was looking to purchase. The first phone call should have been a warning when the person I spoke to (Ken) was unhelpful, grumpy and rude. I went ahead anyway and gave him the details of the car dealer and location. He phoned back about two hours later extremely angry and rude advising that the car dealer wasnt there for him to view the car - turns out he hadnt bothered to call the number to check if the dealer was there (turns out the dealer was at a a funeral and wouldnt be back until after lunch). Then proceeded to blame me and got angrier and angrier. I tried to call the car dealer who advised he would be back after lunch time and the car could be viewed then. Rang Ken back to advise who basically said I had wasted his time and as a result he refused to do the car inspection but would be charging my credit card in full for the inspection ($161.00) which he did - unbelievable. Fortunately enough for me you cant do that (basically theft from my point of view) so I was able to seek the return of my funds through my bank. I would recommend no one ever deals with this company, especially Ken, and uses AA or VTNZ."
    Rating by: D J   |  Rating posted: 2nd Jan, 2016  |  Contact: Ken  |  Job date: Jan, 2016
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 0%  |  Value: 0%
    2nd Jan, 2016More details…
  • 13%
    "Absolutely shocking service, the worst customer service I have ever encountered! these people have no idea about cars and ticked things like clutch and boot release as working fine when this car dosnt even have those things!! I havent purchased the car yet but even I had credit card troubles because Ken on the other line didnt hear me say a word correctly- THEN blamed me for not speaking clearly!! easily one of the worst companies I have every dealt with. They even told me it would be $140, took my deatils then said my car declined because it didnt have enough, turns out it was $140 plus gst- something they didnt tell me about! Every single other inspector I called included GST in their price, this was a hidden scam. People please go else where, I have found atleast 2 other amazing companies you can deal with."
    Rating by: Avishta  |  Rating posted: 23rd Feb, 2015  |  Contact: Ken  |  Job date: Feb, 2015
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 50%  |  Value: 0%
    23rd Feb, 2015More details…
  • 95%
    "My son had his eyes set on a car, which I soundly suspected. Sons don't lbuy cars with their brains, but with their hearts. So I decided to get a third party to be the bad messenger. In came Ken. He took the car to pieces and found so many faults (and pointed those out to us). Not that we could have detected those issues ourselves, it required a mechanic like him to rationalise them.

    Ken was very friendly indeed.
    In fact, after he has asked my son what type of car he wanted, he called him an hour later, telling him that he had seen a car for sale, parked on the side of the road. We will use A Grade again."

    Rating by: Jan  |  Rating posted: 24th Nov, 2013  |  Contact: Ken  |  Job date: Nov, 2013
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 80%
    24th Nov, 2013More details…
  • 30%
    "i normally use the AA, always good service but tried this outfit because the dealer said they were good.
    Was accused of giving wrong details for credit card by bad mannered office staff to begin with .The guy who looked at the car hardly spoke and I had to prise information out of him regarding an issue with the car.
    Have gone back to the AA,would never use this company again or recommend them.
    "
    Rating by: Mark  |  Rating posted: 17th Mar, 2013  |  Contact: Office  |  Job date: Aug, 2010
    Communication: 10%  |  Quality: 10%  |  Reliability: 50%  |  Value: 50%
    17th Mar, 2013More details…
  • 8%
    "Very poor standard of inspection carried out. All that was noted of concern in the inspection report was it needed a wheel alignment and service. On taking the vehicle to a mechanic a large number of faults were missed by agrade vehicle inspections, one was so obvious that I doubt the inspector even viewed the vehicle ( he failed to note that there was a directional tyre and non directional tyre on the front which is a w.o.f fail."
    Rating by: Jerry  |  Rating posted: 1st Sep, 2012  |  Contact: Ken  |  Job date: Jun, 2012
    Communication: 10%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 10%  |  Value: 10%
    1st Sep, 2012More details…
  • 3%
    "Very upset we used this company. Bought a car through Ezybuy tender centre and had it checked by this company before the sale went through. Told it was above average condition, only things that needed immediate attention were the wiper blades and the air conditioning. 1 day after getting it home check coolant light came on. We checked this and the coolant was too full if anything so called BMW and they told us it is probably a sensor issue. Within a week all coolant gone, told by a garage the radiator is leaking and it would be at least $800. My partner called Ken as we were quite upset with this and got a tirade of abuse, I called and he was pleasant enough blaming my partners attitude and told me to bring the car back to Ezybuy and he would look at it. I could not move it as the leak was too bad so had to have it towed at my expense. A week later we got it back apparany fixed with no coolant in it so filled it up and took it home. Still more issues, my garage found wrong sized parts which they replaced hoping that was it but I am now sitting with no car waiting for 3 grands worth of repairs to be done which I will pay for considering I don\'t want anything more to do with this company."
    Rating by: Emma  |  Rating posted: 24th Jul, 2012  |  Contact: Ken  |  Job date: Jun, 2012
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 10%  |  Value: 0%
    24th Jul, 2012More details…
  • 13%
    "I hired this group to do a pre purchase inspection on a car that we bought for my daughter.

    I phoned them before hiring them to check their credentials and Ken assured me that their mechanics have more than 20 years of experience and their check is \"better than an AA check.

    Their report rated the car as average for its age and pointed out three minor faults (wipers worn, washer not working and no jack)

    Within one week - when I took it in for service and a warrant - it failed on four major faults Engine mount split, wheel bearings rough, Exhaust leak, footbrake low reading. It cost over $1,000 to repair. I have made a claim against them for the costs. Their response was that they had flagged these issues among their 168 points as \"Some wear and tear apparent, keep under observation\" Obviously if these items had been flagged as \"defect needs attention\" or had been listed at the end of the report I would have required the vendor Budget Car Auction to fix the faults or I would not have bought the car. i certainly will not be using this company again"

    Rating by: John  |  Rating posted: 19th Feb, 2012  |  Contact: Ken  |  Job date: Feb, 2012
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 50%  |  Value: 0%
    19th Feb, 2012More details…

Phone number
0800 483 442

Physical address
47 Withers Road
Konini 0602

Full name of the contact person undertaking the work on behalf of this business

An email will be sent to this address to authenticate your feedback. If you don't get the email, please check your spam folder. This email address will NOT be published on NoCowboys.co.nz, provided to this business or made available to third parties

Please confirm your email

Write about your experience. The more information and details you give, the more credible to other users your rating will be. Be as descriptive as possible - there's no limit

You can only leave a rating if you have engaged this business to work for you.

Check this box if you wish to receive occasional news and prize emails from NoCowboys.co.nz