The Original Kiwi Rating Site Now with 134,199 ratings online

Please Log in to leave a rating or continue as a guest

  • 13%
    "I had been a loyal customer to leading edge until 2 years ago. I took my car in for a service where it had the cv boots replaced. When it was ready i picked it up and noticed at the first set of lights that there was problem. When idle the car was wobbling. I booked the car back in to have this diagnosed and fixed. They couldn't work it out. This time when I got hold of it I noticed a knocking sound when going over bumps. I took it back in. I was told that after my $1000 service and subsequent diagnostics that included $1000 in replacing fuses, it now needed new suspension bushes. I told them I simply couldn't afford to keep fixing the car. And that they needed to stop work and hand the car back. When I picked the car up the girl in reception and the mechanic who worked on my car were both there. He told me that he had tightened the bolts but the bushes still needed replacing. I got the impression by the reaction of the receptionist that something was amiss, from that day forward I haven't been back and wouldn't recommend anyone else going there. My car is still functioning well other than the wobbling and there is still no knocking from the suspension...i really feel like they took me for a ride! Yes this was two years ago but it still angers me, as a female car owner with limited vehicle knowledge I feel really let down by a company i initially I felt I could trust."
    Natasha responded:
    "Dear Alex, this is quite disheartening to read. It is such a shame you have felt this way about our company for 2 years without approaching us. I am obviously disappointed when customers leave after having a less than perfect experience, as it was 2 years ago it is hard to go back to review this case in detail and I can only genuinely apologise you have left feeling this way."
    Rating by: Alex Harrison   |  Rating posted: 6th Mar, 2017  |  Contact: Michael (i think?)  |  Job date: Mar, 2015
    Communication: 50%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 0%  |  Value: 0%
    Alex Harrison 6th Mar, 2017More details, one reply…
  • 10%
    "This place is daylight robbery. Basically they were charging me $1400 for 2 little switches. I bought the car for $4k so was not too impressed when I heard the cost (approx 33% car value) for 2 little window switches. Stay away from them! They've been hounding me now for weeks for "labour costs" which I'm refusing to pay as I'm totally dissatisfied with their services. "
    Natasha responded:
    "Dear Brian. This is disheartening to read as communicated with you at the time you were only to pay the excess on your warranty. The prices that were noted on the invoice provided to you were to be charged to the warranty company should you have chosen to go ahead with the repairs which was for new genuine Peugeot parts. You left the premises after authorising us to order the parts and go ahead with the repair. Then we received your call with the decision not to proceed further with the repairs and as such incurred a bill for the time taken to diagnose and confirm the fault, dismantle, inspect and clean contacts, scanning, lubing of the window slides and reassembling the switch. It is unfortunate that we have had to “hound” you for the payment but thank you for recently paying this. "
    Rating by: Brian  |  Rating posted: 2nd Feb, 2017  |  Contact: ???  |  Job date: Feb, 2017
    Communication: 40%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 0%  |  Value: 0%
    Brian2nd Feb, 2017More details, one reply…
  • 100%
    "This is my first ever review of a company but I was so impressed by the fantastic customer service. What pleasant people to deal with. They kept my husband and I updated on our vehicles progress and we knew how much it would be at the end. We have been twice for various repairs and have had the same experience. Would recommend it.
    Natasha responded:
    "Thank-you Emily, for posting your first review on our company! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us and thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again."
    Rating by: Emily  |  Rating posted: 19th Feb, 2016  |  Contact: Kim  |  Job date: Feb, 2016
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Emily19th Feb, 2016More details, one reply…
  • 100%
    "I first went to Leading Edge Automotive earlier this year, and was so pleasantly greeted by the lovely staff. Kim at reception does a fantastic job, keeping you up to date on a daily basis with what is happening with your car. She is always willing to help, and is very forward thinking. She is a customer service superstar! The garage is very clean and well organised. I have so far, experienced nothing which would deter me from coming back! Also there are plenty of loan cars which are provided free of charge! I would highly recommend Leading Edge Automotive!"
    Natasha responded:
    "Thank you for sharing your impressions and feedback from your recent experience with us. We agree Kim is a customer service superstar and we have passed your wonderful comments on to her. On behalf of the Leading Edge Automotive team, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future."
    Rating by: maicalia  |  Rating posted: 22nd May, 2015  |  Contact: Joris  |  Job date: May, 2015
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    maicalia22nd May, 2015More details, one reply…
  • 0%
    "Purchased the battery at this garage at $330.00. Three days later my car did not start so brought the car back for them to have a look. They had a quick look but could not identify where the problems were so they asked me to bring the car back for them to look again. I did not bring the car back. Few days later got a bill for $70 something from them for that quick look they had (which they could not identify the problem). I asked them why they were charging me this amount because no one ever told me that I would be charged, and I just spent $330 to purchase a battery from them. So when my car could not start only a few days after I purchased this battery it is natural that I would go back to let them check whether there was a problem. They answered me in a very long letter quoting many legislation to support their legal standing and said this is a normal practice for garage (which I doubt it) that if I bring the car in they will charge me for the time spent.

    I am too busy and too tired to get into legal dispute with this bunch of crooks so I decided to just pay the money they asked and never went back. Still had an audacity to send me letters to invite me to choose their garage as a place to service my vehicle after this terrible rip off they did to me. Naturally I threw their letter into the bin immediately. I will never step my foot into this fraudulent business again and will never recommend this bunch of cheating crooks to anyone.

    Quality of Product 0/10 broken after few days

    Service 0/10 could not identify the problem

    honesty 0/10 charged me $70 something for 10 minute of time looking into a car which just has battery replaced by their product three days ago then the car could not start, never told me that I would be charged then billed me $70 something for 10 minute time they spent which could not identify any problem any way

    communication 0/10 never admitted that the car could not start only few days after replacing the battery, citing many legislation and law to defend their fraudulent practice, never saw any garage going so far to rip their customers off like this.
    Joris responded:
    "Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our business. Your vehicle was bought into the workshop for a flat battery on the 2/11/2011. As is our procedure we fitted a loan battery in your vehicle while we fully charged and tested your battery. The battery test is done on a computerised battery tester which prints out a receipt showing you if your battery has failed. The battery had failed. We priced and replaced the new battery for you. At this time we were not aware your vehicle had a current draw issue. On the 23/11/2011 you returned your vehicle with another flat battery. Our workshop then checked for the current draw, we located a fuse drawing 0.35amp. The fuse was removed and you rebooked to diagnose why the fuse was drawing current. The time spent on the vehicle was half an hour at $90 an hour. Our company policy is to receive payment at the time of pick up. We received a voice message from you on our answer phone to cancel the booking as the battery had not gone flat again. We hold no history of any letter being written or sent to you. It is very disappointing that your experience leads you to believe the worst in our company as we strive to be upfront and honest in all our transactions. "
    Rating by: Charn  |  Rating posted: 14th Jul, 2014  |  Contact: Lydia Harre  |  Job date: Nov, 2011
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 0%  |  Value: 0%
    Charn14th Jul, 2014More details, one reply…
  • 93%
    "I can't recommend enough the service I have received from Joris and the team at leading edge automotive.
    Issues with my car have been sorted in a professional manner. Work completed to a high standard with no come backs. Communication on issues along the way have been straight up on what has to been done to repair my vehicle.
    Joris responded:
    "Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am pleased you have enjoyed wonderful experiences at Leading Edge Automotive and thank you for your kind comments on our service. "
    Rating by: mike  |  Rating posted: 11th Jun, 2014  |  Contact: Joris Saunders  |  Job date: Jun, 2014
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 90%  |  Reliability: 90%  |  Value: 90%
    mike11th Jun, 2014More details, one reply…
  • 0%
    "I came here because another business referred me. I will never go there again! They charged me $750 to take my car apart and then told me they didn't know exactly what was wrong. On the 4th day I came to pick it up and the indicators weren't working and it was spewing smoke, so they had to take it over the weekend to fix it.
    After this horrible nightmare, a friend at work looked at the car and found that the intake was loose and that I should simply get the O2 sensor cleaned - all for free. What a bunch of useless ****, they don't deserve to be in business.
    Joris responded:
    "Thank you for your recent review of our business, as disappointing as it was to read. We always aim to have customers who come to us wish to return. It sounds like we really failed to meet your expectations and we sincerely apologise. I have looked at the vehicle history, the process for diagnosing the electrical fault did take some time, while a free courtesy vehicle was provided we understand that the time taken was too long. When informed that it was the electronic control unit that required replacing you decided not to proceed with the repairs. The smoke in the vehicle was caused by an electrical aerial which was previously disconnected due to being faulty, this was remedied straight away and the blown indicator fuse replaced both of these should have been picked up in the test drive. The team has been spoken to regarding this. I am saddened that you did not experience the high levels of service that we normally provide. "
    Rating by: Greg  |  Rating posted: 29th May, 2014  |  Contact: Yaris  |  Job date: May, 2014
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 0%  |  Value: 0%
    Greg29th May, 2014More details, one reply…
  • 3%
    RIP OFF!!!!!!!
    Joris responded:
    "Thank you for your feedback. I am obviously always disappointed when customers leave feeling that they have received a less than perfect experience so I genuinely apologise. You had authorised us to arrange the tow of your vehicle. The diagnosis was that the car had no spark and further diagnosis was required to determine the cause of the fault. At this stage you chose not to proceed. If you had contacted us at the time you believed we had misdiagnosed the repair required then we could have discussed and looked into it further. It saddens me you left the business feeling that you had received a less than positive experience. "
    Rating by: DORIN  |  Rating posted: 4th Feb, 2014  |  Contact: MANAGER  |  Job date: Jan, 2014
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 10%  |  Value: 0%
    DORIN4th Feb, 2014More details, one reply…
  • 63%
    "I asked to have my alternator checked and a quote given for repair. The disassembly and diagnosis was, to my mind, expensive at $80 but their lovely work premises must cost a fair bit so I let that go. The quote to repair my alternator was unbelievably expensive and the quote given to supply a new alternator was astronomical. After doing some research on the internet I found the parts required for the repair cost about $200 and were a straight assembly replacement no skill involved considering that the disassembly and diagnostic cost $80 then I would have expected a total repair cost of around $300 or to be fair $380 if they were including the original diagnosis cost as well, the $560 quoted left me aghast! Secondly the quote for a new alternator was $800, after 10minutes of searching the internet I got a quote for a brand new alternator picked up from the Christchurch warehouse of a national auto electrics company for $335 + gst!!!

    Just outraged at the prices these guys tried to charge me!!! However I will praise their ability to get the job done on time or quicker and their customer communications were very good, just a shame that they feel the need to profiteer so greedily.........
    Joris responded:
    "Thank you for sharing your impressions and feedback from your experience with us. I am so glad that you found the time taken and communication with you were of a high standard. It is most pleasing to learn that our team has taken good care of you. I am obviously disappointed that you left feeling that the prices charged were too high. From this feedback we will look at our suppliers of alternators to ensure we are getting the best in quality and cost and can pass this on to customers. I would love to think that you may give us another opportunity to show that we are a fantastic automotive repairer and you may consider choosing us again."
    Rating by: Jeremy  |  Rating posted: 18th Jul, 2013  |  Contact: Kim  |  Job date: Jul, 2013
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 50%  |  Reliability: 90%  |  Value: 10%
    Jeremy18th Jul, 2013More details, one reply…
  • 30%
    "very disappointed with this guys, the diagnosis was totally wrong and for the part they want to replace the price was very excessive!! anyways they have charge me 220 bucks to looking for the fault but was totally wrong... end up taking my car to another guys for much less money and got totally fixed. "
    Joris responded:
    "Thank you for sharing your feedback. I was sorry to read that you felt the diagnosis given was wrong. It is unfortunate that you did not contact us as we would have liked to know how the fault was repaired, this could have been very informative for our team and we could have discussed any reimbursement at that stage. I sincerely apologise that you did not receive a positive experience. "
    Rating by: Eduardo  |  Rating posted: 18th May, 2013  |  Contact: Sparky  |  Job date: Oct, 2012
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 20%  |  Value: 0%
    Eduardo18th May, 2013More details, one reply…
  • 100%
    "I've been using Leading Edge for a number of years now, since randomly choosing a garage close to me for some work and being so impressed with their service that I've never considered going anywhere else since, and have recommended them to friends and family.

    Their work is always exemplary, with excellent communication, always letting me know what's going on at every step of the way so there are never any unexpected surprises on the bill at the end, and doing a stellar job on any and every job, from the big things like replacing clutch and cambelt down to resoldering the central locking control board or patching a minor chip in the paintwork."

    Joris responded:
    "Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I am thrilled to know that you had enjoyed wonderful experiences with us and that our services exceed your expectations. On behalf of the Leading Edge Automotive team, we look forward to welcoming you back again."
    Rating by: Nino Dubin  |  Rating posted: 16th Oct, 2011  |  Contact: Joris  |  Job date: Feb, 2011
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Nino Dubin16th Oct, 2011More details, one reply…
  • 100%
    "Had a PPI done here before buying a new car. Very professional service and communication. Found a few things on the car which the car yard are now fixing, saved me a lot of money in the long run. Highly recommended"
    Joris responded:
    "We are so pleased to hear that you had a great experience with us and thank you for your comments."
    Rating by: Greg  |  Rating posted: 12th Apr, 2011  |  Contact: Joris Sanders  |  Job date: Apr, 2011
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Greg12th Apr, 2011More details, one reply…
  • 100%
    "Great service, completed on time and vehicle left cleaner than it was when I dropped it off. "
    Joris responded:
    "Thank you for sharing your feedback and your comments on our service."
    Rating by: Elisa  |  Rating posted: 12th Apr, 2011  |  Contact: Joris Sanders  |  Job date: Feb, 2011
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Elisa12th Apr, 2011More details, one reply…
  • 100%
    "I was extremely impressed with both how clean their workshop was and how well they cleaned my vehicle, especially removing some of the obvious marks from a minor accident. When I later returned for some investigative work on the brakes I was thrilled with the urgency and value I received. I will be back!"
    Joris responded:
    "Thank you so much for your review. I am thrilled to know that you had a wonderful experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again."
    Rating by: Mike  |  Rating posted: 4th Apr, 2011  |  Contact: Joris Sanders  |  Job date: Nov, 2010
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Mike4th Apr, 2011More details, one reply…
  • 100%
    "I now use Leading Edge Automotive for all my servicing and mechanical needs. I have found there service to be very honest and reliable. I wouldn\'t hesitate to recommend them to anyone."
    Joris responded:
    "We are excited to hear that you had a great experience with us and thank you for your kind comments."
    Rating by: Daniel  |  Rating posted: 3rd Apr, 2011  |  Contact: Joris Sanders  |  Job date: Oct, 2010
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Daniel3rd Apr, 2011More details, one reply…

Unauthenticated ratings (1)

  • 95%
    "fantastic Service from start to finish"
    Rating by: Wendy  |  Rating posted: 3rd Apr, 2011  |  Contact: Joris  |  Job date: Mar, 2011
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 80%
    This rating has not been authenticated so it doesn't count towards the overall rating
    Wendy, 3rd Apr, 2011More details…