The Original Kiwi Rating Site Now with 131,418 ratings online

Please Log in to leave a rating or continue as a guest

  • 35%
    "We were put on to Informed House Inspections by our agent to do a building inspection. We paid up front ($799) and we’re told in writing that we’d be issued the report within 48 hours. The inspection itself proceeded (5+hours late). After 4 days we’d had no word, and our agent had been unable to contact him. After repeatedly calling, on the 5th day the call was finally picked up. We were promised the report that day. Again we received no report or contact and all communication attempts have gone unanswered. It took another night and morning of calling to get a response, and another few hours to finally get the report. This is our first time selling a property, and has added tremendous stress and anxiety to our process as we had interested buyers dependent on this report. We lost several nights of sleep. I really like supporting local businesses, but this has left a bad taste in my mouth about having something high-stakes and time sensitive backed up by a small outfit with no clear path of escalation."
    Rating by: Sam  |  Rating posted: 27th Dec, 2021  |  Contact: Mark Sewell  |  Job date: Dec, 2021
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 70%  |  Reliability: 0%  |  Value: 70%
    Sam27th Dec, 2021More details…
  • 100%
    "Mark and Gary saved me from buying a $770K nightmare. The property already had an inspection and report done by a different inspection company, who claimed that was 0% moisture anywhere in the building when in fact took Mark and Gary, less than 1hr to identify rotten structural framing and Multiple areas of moisture ingress.
    Mark contacted us as soon as the inspection was finished to update us on the findings. If it wasn't for Informed House Inspections we would be in a terrible situation.
    We truly can't Thank Mark and Garry enough!

    Highly recommend!

    Keep up with the good work, guys!
    "
    Rating by: Tassia  |  Rating posted: 18th Aug, 2021  |  Contact: Mark Sewell  |  Job date: Aug, 2021
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Tassia18th Aug, 2021More details…
  • 30%
    "Wednesday. Promises to turn a report around in 48hrs, as is stated on his website. Friday, no report arrives. 4 days, 1 email, 4 texts (with no relpy) and 3 unanswered phone calls later, we finally make contact and get told it was emailed 3 days ago. Still have not seen the report and this company is next to impossible to contact. They never answer the phone or reply to text or email commmunitcation, unless you are booking a job. Avoid using them. "
    Rating by: Martin  |  Rating posted: 2nd Nov, 2020  |  Contact: Mark Sewell  |  Job date: Oct, 2020
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 50%  |  Reliability: 20%  |  Value: 50%
    Martin2nd Nov, 2020More details…
  • 13%
    "Wouldn't recommend Mark, his is a joke. Very slow with report and promises all the hoax when his did not do the building check himself. Better spend ur money else where"
    Rating by: Tanya  |  Rating posted: 3rd Oct, 2020  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Mar, 2020
    Communication: 30%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 20%  |  Value: 0%
    Tanya3rd Oct, 2020More details…
  • 0%
    "Don't use this business. Engaged Mark for a building report, paid, and never received a copy. Followed up on multiple occasions with no success or answers.
    Avoid at all costs!
    "
    Rating by: Joe   |  Rating posted: 4th Mar, 2020  |  Contact: Mark Sewell  |  Job date: Feb, 2020
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 0%  |  Value: 0%
    Joe 4th Mar, 2020More details…
  • 0%
    "Avoid Mark Sewell and Informed House Inspections at all cost.
    Cowboys in all sense of the word.
    Report produced was so factually wrong it was unbelievable.
    Stated no heating in house when every room has a thermostat on the wall for underfloor electric heating. Report highlighted a dangerous garage roof that was not tied down to the walls when it is completed tied down and fully complies with the building code.
    Report advised the concrete tile roof was brittle and porous when it is a Top quality Monier tile roof. The manufacturer rubbished his claims as ignorant. Concrete tile get stronger with age.

    With no electrical knowledge he stated in his report that electrical distribution board and all plugs and switches need replacing when I have had a fully qualified electrician check the house and sign it off as safe and compliant.

    States in his website that he is a qualified plumber but in his report recommends capping of a main sewer pipe vent which us there to let dangerous gases escape safely.

    The list goes on and on .

    As a fully qualified Plumber, gasfitter and drainlayer with over 20 years in the industry I saw dont waste your time and money on Informed House Inspections.

    Mark wont answer his phone or respond when you try to contact him after you receive the report.

    When I finally cornered him and went through the long list of totally false statements in his report and basic errors he said he would review correct them and send me a new copy. He never did.

    He has had every opportunity to correct his sub standard report and hasnt done so.

    I am fully prepared to show anyone this report and show them the house concerned to clearly prove my statements
    "
    Rating by: Gavin  |  Rating posted: 28th Feb, 2019  |  Contact: Mark Sewell  |  Job date: Dec, 2018
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 0%  |  Value: 0%
    Gavin28th Feb, 2019More details…
  • 100%
    "Mark Sewell did a building inspection on my house, which included weather thightness check with an invasive inspection through electrical plugs.

    He was thorough, knowledgeable, explaining the process and findings to me. The inspection took 6 hours, but was well worth it, as I wanted something that covered all the basis. Because his inspection included weather tightness check, it cost a more than a standard check, but as my house has monolithic cladding, I needed to do an extra check. Completely worth the money for the piece of mind.

    He has a good understanding of risk management, meaning he knows when issue is minor or major, and his report outlines that. I really liked that, as it was very realistic view of the house.

    He also understand the maintenance issues, and he was pointing out what needs service/regular checks, how and when. Really handy.

    When he was pulling the plugs out for his wall camera, he always left everything tidy. I asked him to explain what he was seeing on the camera and he did. It's fascinating seeing the inside of walls. Our check showed all dry inside the walls, we could see insulation, and treated timber being used.

    The report is more than 80 pages, lots of pictures, good detailed explanation, summary on the first page.

    Will hire him for the next house check. He's really good.
    "

    Rating by: Tanja  |  Rating posted: 18th Jan, 2018  |  Contact: Mark Sewell  |  Job date: Jan, 2018
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Tanja18th Jan, 2018More details…

Phone number
0800246367

Physical address
Manna/plimmerton

Categories we service
No categories selected

Areas we service
No areas selected