The Original Kiwi Rating Site Now with 104,730 ratings online

Harbour Home Inspections / Building Inspections in Birkenhead

 
 
 

Primary contact
Mark Hadfield

  • 100%
    "We used Mark to provide an assessment when we brought our first home. He was very professional to deal it and provided a fast turn around with a very detailed and easy to understand building report. This was very helpful as a first home buyer. The Real Estate agent who escorted him around the property said he was one of the most thorough and detailed focused building surveyors she had encountered. We have now lived in the house for 4 months and have had no issues with the property. I would highly recommend Mark as a professional and excellent value for money service when getting a pre purchase building report."
    Rating by: Kelsey   |  Rating posted: 18th Aug  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield   |  Job date: Feb, 2020
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Kelsey 18th AugMore details…
  • 100%
    "Mark completed a verbal property inspection for us recently and I would highly recommend his services. He was able to rearrange the inspection at short notice to fit it in before lockdown. He was very thorough, personable and honest. He took time to explain each finding and was available for discussion/any questions after the inspection had been completed. I wouldn't hesitate to use his services again in the future."
    Rating by: Heather  |  Rating posted: 18th Aug  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Aug, 2020
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Heather18th AugMore details…
  • 100%
    "Would highly recommend Mark. He has done some work for us back in 2015 and then when we needed more work done, we didn’t hesitate to call for a report on a potential purchase. Vast knowledge and great communication. Thanks again Mark! "
    Rating by: Megan  |  Rating posted: 3rd Aug  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Aug, 2020
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Megan3rd AugMore details…
  • 100%
    "Mark responded quickly to emails, called to confirm our booking with was quite last minute, and was flexible to our timing needs. His report was thorough and honest, with good photographic backing of all points. His report arrived before deadline and was well written. He provided us with a verbal appraisal at the inspection site, which assured us of our purchase. It was great to get a local on the job, and we felt he provided reason to trust his judgement by the way he worked throughout the process. He took time to understand the context of our purchase and how his inspection factored in that. I will sleep better at night knowing we have received good advice and are making a sound real estate decision. Thanks Mark"
    Rating by: Louise  |  Rating posted: 30th May  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: May, 2020
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Louise30th MayMore details…
  • 100%
    "Mark is the has helped me assess several properties in the last year and is the ultimate professional. After having dealt with other builders in the past I found Mark to be more thorough than them all by a very long way and as a result I felt very comfortable trusting everything he told me. Mark understands the significance of purchasing a house and as such cares deeply that his customers have ALL the information they need to make the best decision for themselves. Mark provides as complete a picture as you can get, warts and all - which is exactly what you need. As such he saved me buying at least 2 properties that had some nasty hidden surprises. It is very easy to work with Mark, his communication is excellent as is his knowledge, ability and experience in the field. I will continue to use Mark as long as I can and recommend him to anyone who wants to ensure they get the very best building reporting out there. Thanks Mark, all the best!"
    Rating by: Julian  |  Rating posted: 19th May  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: May, 2020
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Julian19th MayMore details…
  • 100%
    "A friend of mine had used Mark / Harbour Home Inspections several times over the years and who sang their praise, got me on to Mark. The house I ending up buying looked very good in a report by another company commissioned by the seller but my wife insisted I got an independent report from Mark. It was lucky I did as I would never heard the end of it! The place had a large amount of rot to the floor beams under the shower and issues where the garage that had been dug out more and altered. Marks report was extremely thorough and easy to understand and not only did he find the floor rot missed early he warned me of the serious issues with the garage.

    With the report I was able to get the seller to repair the shower floor beams and I also got $10K reduced off the price for the garage issues.

    I would not hesitate recommending anyone to use Mark. His report was fantastic and so was his after inspection assistance with dealing with the issues found in the report.
    "
    Rating by: Bernard  |  Rating posted: 15th May  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield   |  Job date: May, 2020
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Bernard15th MayMore details…
  • 100%
    "Great and professional service from mark..mark responded my request to inspect the house on a very short notice.. thought the agent forgot to bring the keys to inspect underneath the house.. thanks to mark he kindly came back again to inspect the house and make sure that i am making an informed decision regarding the house..

    Mark is very detailed in answering any question.. answered all my calls/inquiries after the inspection..

    Probably, the beat in town.."

    Rating by: Ahmed  |  Rating posted: 25th Dec, 2019  |  Contact: Ahmed  |  Job date: Dec, 2019
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Ahmed25th Dec, 2019More details…
  • 100%
    "I used Mark to inspect two properties. The inspections were done promptly and reports were clear and concise. I was very impressed with Marks willingness to discuss the report and provide more information.

    On the second property there were questions after the pre settlement inspection. Even though it was 7 weeks after Mark had completed his report he still responded to questions. "

    Rating by: Brent  |  Rating posted: 15th Dec, 2019  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield   |  Job date: Oct, 2019
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Brent15th Dec, 2019More details…
  • 100%
    "We have used Mark on numerous occasions and he is 100% trustworthy. We recommend him and will use his services again when required."
    Rating by: Philip  |  Rating posted: 21st Jan, 2019  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Nov, 2018
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Philip21st Jan, 2019More details…
  • 100%
    "I have used Mark at Harbour Home Inspections for many house inspections over the past 6 years, some of which I purchased and some not. He provides a sound view of the house bones, highlighting all possible or actual issues, repairs or maintenance required, and details this in an excellent report. His communications is outstanding and he is reliable and cost-effective. I highly recommend him and am totally happy with the advice and outcomes I have achieved in my investment porfolio, thanks to him."
    Rating by: Sheri  |  Rating posted: 21st Jun, 2018  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: May, 2018
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Sheri21st Jun, 2018More details…
  • 100%
    "Mark was really detailed and thorough with my builders report. He managed to explain things in proper English (it made sense to me-I'm a little clueless on these things).
    I called him days later for further help and questions and he made time to help me on the spot.
    "
    Rating by: Marie   |  Rating posted: 22nd Mar, 2018  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield   |  Job date: Mar, 2018
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Marie 22nd Mar, 2018More details…
  • 100%
    "Having just arrived from overseas, getting some solid advice on property was essential. Mark was straightforward, open, professional and very thorough. I would definitely recommend these guys and Mark in particular. He definitely helped us avoid some unnecessary risk. "
    Rating by: Justin  |  Rating posted: 14th Jul, 2016  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Jul, 2016
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Justin14th Jul, 2016More details…
  • 100%
    "I was recommended Harbor Home Inspectors by a friend. They were very prompt, and communicated the information to me while on site. This helped me understand the condition of the house i was buying. i then got the full detailed report the same day.
    I would recommend Mark to anyone looking for great service and knowledge of buildings.
    "
    Rating by: Anna  |  Rating posted: 29th May, 2016  |  Contact: Mark Hatfield  |  Job date: May, 2016
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Anna29th May, 2016More details…
  • 93%
    "Excellent communication and thorough report. Cheers "
    Rating by: Scott  |  Rating posted: 22nd Mar, 2013  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Mar, 2013
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 90%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 80%
    Scott22nd Mar, 2013More details…
  • 100%
    "Excellent job! Very good communication, had the report the same day he did it, extremely thorough, couldn\'t speak highly enough! Top job! :-) "
    Rating by: Brett   |  Rating posted: 31st Aug, 2012  |  Contact: Brett Barker  |  Job date: Aug, 2012
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Brett 31st Aug, 2012More details…
  • 100%
    "We highly recommend Mark\'s service to anyone. He did our house inspection and some investigation to assist us with insurance documentation. We were very impressed by his professionalism and the detailed report. He had taken time to thoroughly inspect the house and was very patient to discuss any issues with us on site. We really appreciate your solid efforts today and would be happy to engage you again!"
    Rating by: Joanne C.  |  Rating posted: 12th Jun, 2012  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Jun, 2012
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Joanne C.12th Jun, 2012More details…
  • 100%
    "Mark was definitely the man for the job. Not only he is professional at what he does, but he is very literate. I.e. he explained the result of home inspection in a straight forward manner that is very easy for us to understand. Everything was done on a timely manner and pointed out several area that we did not notice and provide suggestion on how to fix them. In addition, he sticks to the quote that he had provided us initially and he managed to reschedule one of his clients and put my job first as it was literately 2 days prior to auction day when I had rung him up to confirm about the job. Extra points given!!! My advices to all of you out there would be.... Ask for Mark, particularly if your interests lay within North Shore Auckland region. Because Mark has lived and learnt the North Shore property inside out over years of experience."
    Rating by: Steve T.J.  |  Rating posted: 4th Mar, 2012  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Feb, 2012
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Steve T.J.4th Mar, 2012More details…
  • 98%
    "The property we were looking to purchase had obviously not been cleaned regularly, but we were fairly sure that it was structurally sound. For this reason we were tempted to go for another company that was $100 cheaper.
    Mark confirmed our assumptions about the structure, which I am sure any inspector would have done. However, I am not sure that we would have got the detail and explanations that we got from Mark. This provided us with a very clear view of what maintenance and minor adjustments would be required.

    When considering such a huge investment the extra cost was well worth the piece of mind.
    "
    Rating by: Elton  |  Rating posted: 11th Aug, 2011  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Jun, 2011
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 90%
    Elton11th Aug, 2011More details…
  • 100%
    "I can\'t recommend Mark enough! He was such a huge help with checking out this property and gave me on going support, great value for money and an incredibly detailed report. Don\'t buy a house without getting Mark to check it out first!"
    Rating by: Rhiyen Sharp  |  Rating posted: 21st Jun, 2011  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Jun, 2011
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Rhiyen Sharp21st Jun, 2011More details…
  • 98%
    "We have used Mark twice now and will be using him again. Very professional and courteous in his approach with delivery of a comprehensive and on time report. He also provides verbal feedback on his report and we would not hesitate to recommend him. Chris & Fiona R."
    Rating by: Chris  |  Rating posted: 17th Sep, 2010  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Aug, 2010
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 90%
    Chris17th Sep, 2010More details…
  • 98%
    "Mark just did our pre purchase inspection couple days ago, he is really friendly and helpful. We have to call him at night to ask him a few questions, he is really happy to help and offer his advise to us. He is really easy to deal with and I would for sure recommend him to any other who want to do a pre purchase inspection. I was recommended by my friends and collegues to him, he is a certianly a good guy to trust.Thanks for all your help. We would for sure ask you to do any other prepurchase inspection in the future!!!"
    Rating by: James  |  Rating posted: 23rd Jun, 2010  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Jun, 2010
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 90%
    James23rd Jun, 2010More details…
  • 95%
    "The property is inspected in details of both exterior part and interior part. I particularly appreciate the photos taken which clearly demonstrate the defects and concerning.

    Mark is helpful. Communication is good, and service is on time. Therefore, Generally, Mark did a good job.

    Things to improve

    There is some uncertainty about the weather tightness/leakage issues, which can’t be clarified by the inspection. Mark recommended another inspector who is a leaky house specialist. However, after the 2nd inspection, uncertainty is not clarified. After paying more than $1000, I should have got a certain answer about those issues."

    Rating by: Philip  |  Rating posted: 6th Jun, 2010  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Apr, 2009
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 90%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 90%
    Philip6th Jun, 2010More details…
  • 100%
    "Fabulous dealings with Mark. Excellent communication and very willing to discuss anything at length and answer any questions I had after the inspection. We had two inspections carried out by Mark. One on a leaky house that we steered well clear of and another which we bought. My partner and I were very impressed with Marks prompt dealings. Fitting us in at the drop of a hat and giving us an extremely thorough digital report that very evening. I am not surprised to see other reviews similar to mine and the review that wasn't so shining, Mark's rebuttal was clear and thorough as were our dealings with him. Would highly recommend his services to anyone thinking of buying a home. In fact I just have to a work colleague. Great value for money. What's a few hundred dollars when you are about to spend in excess of a few hundred thousand dollars! Thanks, will be in touch again once we decide to purchase a new property."
    Rating by: Janelle  |  Rating posted: 11th Feb, 2010  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Sep, 2009
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Janelle11th Feb, 2010More details…
  • 100%
    "I contacted Mark at Harbour Home Inspections as a direct result of the feedback contained on this site. Mark was very helpful and easy to deal with throughout. He took time to explain things to me and also produced an excellent, detailed report complete with recommendations and suggestions. He was also happy to deal with trades people concerned with further inspection of problem areas. Once again this is not the cheapest report but It is certainly very detailed and definitely worth every cent as opposed to the more standard tick sheet type of report. I would highly recommend using Mark at HHIL in order to protect your financial outlay for any property you might be considering buyingI"
    Rating by: David  |  Rating posted: 11th Nov, 2009  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Nov, 2009
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    David11th Nov, 2009More details…
  • 100%
    "Excellent Service!!! Highly recommended!!!"
    Rating by: Shawn  |  Rating posted: 5th Nov, 2009  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Nov, 2009
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Shawn5th Nov, 2009More details…
  • 100%
    "We are very happy to have used Harbour Home Inspections for our pre-purchase inspection and we were very much impressed by Mark's professionalism throughout the inspection process. We have recommended Mark and Harbour Home Inspections to our friends here and would recommend to anyone who needs a home inspector. "
    Rating by: Penny  |  Rating posted: 20th Oct, 2009  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Oct, 2009
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Penny20th Oct, 2009More details…
  • 98%
    "Marks comprehensive report saved us from buying a Prime Candidate for Leaky Building Syndrome, would definately use his services again. Highly recommended."
    Rating by: Josh  |  Rating posted: 1st Sep, 2009  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Sep, 2009
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 90%  |  Value: 100%
    Josh1st Sep, 2009More details…
  • 100%
    "I was impressed with the quality of the inspection and indepth reporting - and then to be happy for me to phone to discuss the report for at least half an hour with me, really made me realise I had chosen the right company for the job. Thankyou very much, I would have no hesitation in recommending this company. "
    Rating by: Fiona  |  Rating posted: 14th Aug, 2009  |  Contact: OWNER  |  Job date: Jul, 2009
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Fiona14th Aug, 2009More details…
  • 98%
    "I found Harbour Home Inspections via the nocowboys website. I did read the one unfavourable response but made my decision to use Mark based on his reply to that and the other great feedback he had received from other customers. It was the best decision we made and Mark did a fantastic job for us. We were especially impressed with the communication. Mark kept us updated every step of the way in what turned out to be a particularly difficult process with some very serious findings. He was very thorough with his inspection and at the end he presented us with a well written report along with his recommendations. I would not hesitate to recommend Harbour Home Inspections to anyone looking at buying a home and in fact have already done so to one of my own customers."
    Rating by: Barb  |  Rating posted: 6th May, 2009  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: May, 2009
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 90%
    Barb6th May, 2009More details…
  • 95%
    "I have used mark / Harbour Home Inspections 3 times now and would use none other. Mark is extremely through and knowledgeable and his reports are written like a story – very easy to understand, unlike the tick box inspections some other company’s do. Marks reports have always be sent to me before 5pm on the day as promised and last time I met Mark on site and he was able to update me as soon as the inspection was finished. Mark has even been available after hours to call when I have had additional queries. Marks inspections are not the cheapest but they are the best. Highly recommended - Thanks Mark"
    Rating by: Zac  |  Rating posted: 7th Feb, 2009  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Dec, 2008
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 80%
    Zac7th Feb, 2009More details…
  • 50%
    "Mark was generally very helpful and easy to communicate with. He spotted a few things, which was helpful. BUT, in the first week after purchasing the house we found a leak. An engineer prepared a report and talking to him it was clear that this could (should?) have been spotted by Mark. Every other trades men who was working on site was surprised that this was unnoticed.
    Mark still communicated with me and offered his advice, but we didn't feel that he was the right one after missing this leak. Apart from his advice he offered no compensation whatsoever (no regret either). He made it clear that he has basically no responsibility about this.

    We can accept that humans make mistakes, but not accepting any responsability for it is outrageous! After all this mistake cost us more than 20'000NZ$ and took almost a year to fix. - No, we are not happy about this service.
    "
    Mark Hadfield - Chief Building Inspector responded:
    "THOMAS FOSTER reply – Hi Thomas, I am disappointed that you feel that anybody but yourself should bear any responsibility. I have spent many additional hours at no expense to yourself helping you with this. Unfortunately you choose to ignore the extensive recommendations and warnings in the report associated to the illegal works which directly relate to the building faults and water ingress. You were given substantial warnings (Not just spotted a few things as you said above) and still you decided to purchase the house. An unsafe spa pool, illegal deck construction, illegal stairs removal, hidden rot to roof beams, damaged spouting and electrical concerns were also uncovered as well as the more serious concerns noted below. If you followed up on my warnings regarding this house this problem could have been rectified by the vendor. Warnings included; FOUNDATIONS & FRAMING “QUOTE” - Changes may have occurred in the kitchen and master bedroom / en suite areas. The south basement bedroom may have formerly been a storage area or open carport. The size of the newish north upper joinery unit should be confirmed to be as per plan. The layout of the downstairs unit is said to be constructed without building consent. (As known by yourself / vendor) This area needs further investigation. There may be structural changes to support walls, beams or footings in this area. A full oven and hob (And kitchenette / bathroom) is installed in this area which usually makes it necessary for the area to come up to stringent fire and safety requirements. Knowingly having an area configured like this can affect hose insurances and in some cases home owners have been prosecuted by the council. Be aware this is not safe if constructed illegally. The oven / hob may have to be removed and an “Unauthorised Works Report” conducted to determine changes required and to update council records / consents. The CONCLUSION includes There are concerns with the dwellings structural integrity as it appears illegal alterations have been conducted in the north basement unit area. This could have ramifications involving the council if not addressed. Other areas of the dwelling also need to be confirmed to be as per plan, in particular the lower south bedroom, master bedroom and en suite, bathroom, kitchen, lounge joinery openings, lounge gas fire and deck. The RECOMMENDATIONS include Confirm all construction has been undertaken with appropriate consents if not original. Ensure Building permits (Consent - Pre July 1991) or Code Compliance Certificates (CCC - Post July 1991) are issued. Any retrospective consent (Unauthorised Works Reports or Safe and Sanitary Reports) and associated costs should be paid for by the vendor. (If required / Excluding unit consent cost to vendor) Property file will be required. These warnings are extensive and unfortunately appear ignored. Mark Hadfield – Chief Building Inspector "
    Rating by: Thomas  |  Rating posted: 4th Feb, 2009  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Jun, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 0%
    Thomas4th Feb, 2009More details, one reply…
  • 100%
    "Very impressed with Mark's professionalism and the the level of knowledge he has about property, building, council regulations and requirements. Mark inspected a property for us and was suspicious that a basement garage and deck has been done illegally, i.e. without council consent and in a very DIY way. After checking council records I found that he was right. Marks advised me on what council certification I should get from the vendor to ensure the house is safe to live in before going ahead with the purchase. Mark has saved me at least $30K and allot of headaches. Highly recommended!."
    Rating by: Kerry  |  Rating posted: 24th Aug, 2008  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Aug, 2008
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Kerry24th Aug, 2008More details…
  • 98%
    "All very professional right from the start. Rarely have I encountered such a professional company. They arranged the inspection with the agent and confirmed it by email that morning. The inspection report was email to us by 5pm on inspection day as promised. The report was very thorough (It was a plaster clad house) and the many faults (They were major!) were detailed allowing us to back out of the sale. What a relief. I plan to have Harbour Home Inspections conduct my next inspection, but with their advice know what I should and shouldn?t be looking at."
    Rating by: Tom  |  Rating posted: 16th Mar, 2008  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Dec, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 90%
    Tom16th Mar, 2008More details…
  • 100%
    "Mark was excellent. He talked me through the whole inspection at the end, at the house. Mark was very thorough and easy to understand. The report was ready by 5pm as promised and Mark was able to answer several questions for me that evening. I was very impressed with the service. Highly recommended. "
    Rating by: Merry  |  Rating posted: 15th Aug, 2007  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Aug, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Merry15th Aug, 2007More details…
  • 100%
    "The service was excellent from start to finish. Mark was extremely thorough in his inspection of the property which is just what is required when one is investing a huge amount of money in a home. The written report exceeded expectation in that it was thorough, well presented, easy to read and understand, but most importantly, gave clear recommendations for the vendor and purchaser.
    This may not be the cheapest home inspection available, however the advice and service we received were invaluable and worth every penny! I would highly recommend this service to anyone purchasing or selling a property.
    "
    Rating by: Christine  |  Rating posted: 26th Jun, 2007  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Jun, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Christine26th Jun, 2007More details…
  • 95%
    "Exceptional experience on a difficult property. Stuck to the instructions and picked out only what we needed to know."
    Rating by: Matt  |  Rating posted: 21st Jun, 2007  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Jun, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 80%
    Matt21st Jun, 2007More details…
  • 100%
    "Great Service. The Best report I've received over 10 years and many houses, and I got it the same day!! Communication great, and issues explained and photographed, saved me thousands. Highly recommended. "
    Rating by: Stephen  |  Rating posted: 9th May, 2007  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: May, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Stephen9th May, 2007More details…
  • 100%
    "Mark was very pleasant to deal with. He was very professional, provided a comprehensive housing report all in the time frame that he said he would. I would recommend Mark and his company without hesitation and would certainly use his services again in the future."
    Rating by: Kara  |  Rating posted: 3rd May, 2007  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: May, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Kara3rd May, 2007More details…
  • 100%
    "Good to work with, punctual in work and report submission.I recommend everyone."
    Rating by: Vishwanath  |  Rating posted: 24th Apr, 2007  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Apr, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Vishwanath24th Apr, 2007More details…
  • 100%
    "Mark was an extremely helpful and knowledgeable inspector. Report was very informative and was promptly completed the same day as promised. Mark was able to assist with remedying the concerns listed and saved me a considerable amount of money. Highly recommend."
    Rating by: Maddie  |  Rating posted: 20th Mar, 2007  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Mar, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Maddie20th Mar, 2007More details…
  • 94%
    "Did a great job, very thorough."
    Rating by: Gwyn  |  Rating posted: 15th Feb, 2007  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Feb, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 75%
    Gwyn15th Feb, 2007More details…
  • 100%
    "Mark provided an excellent service! We were in receipt of our report (by e-mail) on the same day the inspection was carried out.

    He comes with our highest recommendations! We would certainly recommend him to others.

    Thomas & Ellie"

    Rating by: Thomas  |  Rating posted: 14th Feb, 2007  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Feb, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Thomas14th Feb, 2007More details…
  • 100%
    "Great Quick, Informative service, would highly reccommend to anyone and would use them again.

    Great Job"

    Rating by: Demelza  |  Rating posted: 1st Feb, 2007  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Feb, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Demelza1st Feb, 2007More details…
  • 100%
    "Very reliable. Detailed, thorough and well presented report. Good accessibility for discussing report. Well organised. A pleasure to do business with and well worth the fee."
    Rating by: Tim Parke  |  Rating posted: 19th Dec, 2006  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Dec, 2006
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Tim Parke19th Dec, 2006More details…
  • 100%
    "Excellent service. Mark was very pleasant to work with and very thorough. I would recommend this company to everyone."
    Mark Hadfield responded:
    "Thanks Paul. Very happy to hear you are pleased with the service you received. Thanks for your kind words and being first to list the company. I am now adding a NoCowboys link to all my reports. Kind Regards, Mark"
    Rating by: Paul  |  Rating posted: 9th Oct, 2006  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Oct, 2006
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Paul9th Oct, 2006More details, one reply…

Unauthenticated ratings (4)

  • 95%
    "Mark has carried out three inspections for us now. Each time he has carreid out a professional and timely job. Ill be using him for future inspections."
    Rating by: Myron  |  Rating posted: 8th Feb, 2009  |  Contact: Mark Hadfield  |  Job date: Feb, 2009
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 80%
    This rating has not been authenticated so it doesn't count towards the overall rating
    Myron, 8th Feb, 2009More details…
  • 100%
    "So glad I chose HHIL from the google page. Marks report was very thorough and has highlighted some issues that I will look into. Not often you come across such professionalism. Will recommend HHIL to anyone in the future for sure."
    Rating by: Donna  |  Rating posted: 25th Sep, 2008  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Sep, 2008
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    This rating has not been authenticated so it doesn't count towards the overall rating
    Donna, 25th Sep, 2008More details…
  • 100%
    "We were rapt with Marks service. Everything happened according to the timeframe Mark gave us and we were very happy wtih the report he prepared for us. Awesome service."
    Rating by: Lisa  |  Rating posted: 5th Jun, 2007  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Jun, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    This rating has not been authenticated so it doesn't count towards the overall rating
    Lisa, 5th Jun, 2007More details…
  • 100%
    "Great thorough job and its exactly as advertised!

    Thanks Mark and highly recommended to anyone else."

    Rating by: Charles  |  Rating posted: 12th Apr, 2007  |  Contact: Mark  |  Job date: Apr, 2007
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    This rating has not been authenticated so it doesn't count towards the overall rating
    Charles, 12th Apr, 2007More details…

Primary contact
Mark Hadfield

Phone number
0800248696

Phone number (alternative)
0212486961

Website
www.buildersreport.kiwi

Preferred Language
English

Availability
Please call / Often 2 - 4 days led time with the report sent out the day of the inspection

About us
Owner / Operated by myself, a qualified former builder and building inspector. (NZTCC) Specialising in fully written quality “Same Day” North Shore inspections. Over 5000 inspections conducted. 30 plus Years Experience

What we do
Your North Shore Builders Report Expert
Harbour Home Inspections specialise in conducting pre purchase home inspections on the North Shore's diverse range of homes, with their related conditions, to produce same day comprehensive fully written quality home inspection builders reports. Thorough verbal only reports are also available. Harbour Home Inspections emphasises professionalism, quality, accuracy and superior customer service. We service all of the North Shore and West Auckland as well as up to Orewa and Whangaparaoa, across to Helensville, and everywhere in between.

Harbour Home inspections were developed in 2002 and are a local owner operated independent North Shore company and are not a franchise. Our inspector has conducted over 5 thousand inspections is one of the most skilled and experience inspectors remaining in the industry, and has over 30 years continuous experience.
Harbour Home Inspections undertake an impartial, comprehensive visual inspection, assessing all aspects of the house. Particular attention is paid to the known high risk water ingress areas. Specialist investigative equipment is used including the latest non-invasive moisture testing meter. The detailed onsite investigative phase normally takes between an 1-3/4 and 2 hours. Reference digital photos are taken of all aspects of the design and construction of the house. An additional phone briefing update is made to the purchaser after midday. Harbour Home Inspection verbal only reports follow the exact same inspection process but a consultation is conducted on site directly after the inspection instead of a written report being produced.

Harbour Home Inspections produces only one quality thorough home inspection report each day rather than the two or three basic mediocre tick box style reports typically conducted in the industry. The comprehensive home inspection builders reports are fully typed, include extensive colour photography and explanations, and are separated into easy to evaluate sections including basic wateringress risk and moisture scan information as well as site, design, construction, cladding, interior information and maintenance details.

The comprehensive pre purchase building inspection report is emailed to the purchaser when completed that evening. Harbour Home Inspections reports are recognised by lawyers and banks who often recommend Mark and Harbour Home Inspections directly to their clients. The report is backed up with superior customer service.

Categories we service
Surveyors (Building), Property Inspection Services, Property Consultants, Pre-purchase property inspections, House Inspections, Home inspection services, Building Inspections, Building Advice

Areas we service
West Harbour, Wairau Valley (North Shore), Unsworth Heights, Tindalls Bay, Takapuna, Sunnynook, Stillwater, Stillwater, Stanmore Bay, Silverdale, Rothesay Bay, Orewa, Northcote, North Shore, Murrays Bay, Milford, Milford, Matakatia, Massey, Mairangi Bay, Kumeu, Huapai, Hobsonville, Hillcrest (North Shore), Henderson, Gulf Harbour, Greenhithe, Glenfield, Devonport, Dairy Flat, Coatesville, Castor Bay, Campbells Bay, Browns Bay, Birkenhead, Birkdale, Belmont (Auckland), Beach Haven, Bayswater, Bay View, Army Bay, Albany

Please confirm your email

Character count:

Full name of the contact person undertaking the work on behalf of this business

An email will be sent to this address to authenticate your feedback. If you don't get the email, please check your spam folder. This email address will NOT be published on NoCowboys.co.nz, provided to this business or made available to third parties

Please confirm your email

Write about your experience. The more information and details you give, the more credible to other users your rating will be. Be as descriptive as possible - there's no limit

You can only leave a rating if you have engaged this business to work for you.

Check this box if you wish to receive occasional news and prize emails from NoCowboys.co.nz