The Original Kiwi Rating Site Now with 111,981 ratings online

KAAR - Henderson / Automotive servicing, repairs and mechanics in Henderson

Is KAAR - Henderson your business?

Full name of the contact person undertaking the work on behalf of this business

An email will be sent to this address to authenticate your feedback. If you don't get the email, please check your spam folder. This email address will NOT be published on, provided to this business or made available to third parties

Please confirm your email

Write about your experience. The more information and details you give, the more credible to other users your rating will be. Be as descriptive as possible - there's no limit

You can only leave a rating if you have engaged this business to work for you.

Check this box if you wish to receive occasional news and prize emails from

  • 0%
    "Thief's beware "
    Rating by: Yasin  |  Rating posted: 12th Jan  |  Contact: Kevin stewart  |  Job date: Jan, 2021
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 0%  |  Value: 0%
    Yasin12th JanMore details…
  • 48%
    "This is my second time getting my new mitsubishi serviced for the five year warranty unfortunately my recent visit was not as good, they confused my rego with someone elses car and this held things up but to their credit they did only take a couple of hours to do the sevice and WOF but the price has increased ALOT last time I payed around $300 but this time $440!! and they didnt even wash my car??
    I think I will be going to Auckland motors Manukau to get it done.
    Sorry Kaar Mitsubishi ????
    Mark Emery responded:
    "Hi Tehi, At KAAR we strive to offer premium service and I am disappointed you felt we let you down. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Apologies for the initial delay in finding your vehicle, the issue we had was that you had parked your vehicle in a neighbouring businesses carpark fortunately we caught this, before it was towed. In relation to the cost difference, this service included a WOF inspection and the scheduled 2 yearly brake fluid change, which the last service did not. As advised with signage in our reception, Auckland has water restrictions currently and although it is our preference to do a wash and vacuum we are not legally permitted to do the wash. be assured though we did sanitize your vehicle. Once again thank you for bringing your concerns to this forum. Feel free to call us to discuss further we would have happily offered a wash when the water restrictions are over. Kind regards Kelvin. "
    Rating by: Teihi  |  Rating posted: 23rd Jul, 2020  |  Contact: unknown  |  Job date: Jul, 2020
    Communication: 20%  |  Quality: 80%  |  Reliability: 80%  |  Value: 10%
    Teihi23rd Jul, 2020More details, one reply…
  • 0%
    "Charged me $990 for a problem they didn't even fix i already took my car there twice to get it checked and they want me to take it back for the 3rd time I'm not sitting here free "
    Stuart Dean responded:
    "As advised previously, we are only happy to repair under warranty, unfortunately These GDI’s can be an issue occasionally, especially when using secondhand parts. We are only happy to supply a loan car whilst we repair. "
    Rating by: Yasin  |  Rating posted: 5th Feb, 2019  |  Contact: Stuart   |  Job date: Jan, 2019
    Communication: 0%  |  Quality: 0%  |  Reliability: 0%  |  Value: 0%
    Yasin5th Feb, 2019More details, one reply…
  • 80%
    "A quick thanks to Stuart and his team for their great service while sorting my car out at their Kaar Branch in Henderson.
    My '08 Mitsi Gal Fortis had a very complex issue and these guys went the extra mile to find the problem and get it sorted while keeping the costs as low as possible, I found them very knowledgeable and the terminology they used was easy to understand. My car is running superbly now and the refreshing thing about it all is I don't feel like i was ripped off in any way. Yes, I highly recommend them and i'll def go back for my next service.
    Rating by: Zana  |  Rating posted: 31st Aug, 2017  |  Contact: Stuart  |  Job date: Aug, 2017
    Communication: 80%  |  Quality: 80%  |  Reliability: 80%  |  Value: 80%
    Zana31st Aug, 2017More details…
  • 20%
    "Terrible. Avoid at all costs. Went in for a service, car is fairly new, thought it'd be no trouble. They give me a ring to let me know that they'd have to keep it overnight, LUCKILY I didn't need it the next day, so no worries. I call up the next day and ask how far through they are and whether or not I can pick it up yet. They say it's not quite ready and oh yeah, the repairs are going to cost around $1600, oh and one last little side note, we've already started without you giving permission. I feel like that's something that they should let you know about? Anyway I ask them to send me through a list of things that need repairs and give me a quote. after telling me $1600 jumps up to $2200. Nice one. I ask why some of the parts cost so much. They explain to me that some of the pieces only need replacing because the heads are worn, but you can't just replace the heads, the whole piece has to be replaced. They then proceed to charge me $800 for the work they had already done, which I managed to get lowered to $600. I get home and have a look myself. They changed the oil and two lights. For $600. Are you serious? They didn't even clean the brake pads which is an expectation. Anyway a week later I take it into another guy who looks at the pieces and says he'll just replace the heads, it's no big deal. But KAAR told me it WAS A BIG DEAL. Other guy charges me $400 for the whole job, which passes my warrant a week after with flying colours. DO NOT GO TO KAAR. Rip off artists. I could give them 0 stars I would. Disgusting business."
    Stuart Dean responded:
    "Hi Ben, Customer service and satisfaction are very important to us, and I am sorry that you feel we have not provided you with the best service. We have tried to get in contact with you multiple times through both email and phone however you have not responded. Please get in contact with us as we really want to make this right. All the best, Kelvin. "
    Rating by: Ben  |  Rating posted: 24th Jul, 2017  |  Contact: Stuart? Can't remember  |  Job date: May, 2017
    Communication: 50%  |  Quality: 10%  |  Reliability: 20%  |  Value: 0%
    Ben24th Jul, 2017More details, one reply…
  • 30%
    "Unfortunately I am the one to tarnish Kaar Henderson's great record. I will start by saying that Stuart seems a really nice bloke and is happy to share his knowledge.

    I had a Skoda Fabia that had a dodgy back door lock, sometime it would work, sometime it wouldn't and it failed its WOF. I took it to Kaar Henderson and was originally quoted around $450 + GST for the labour including a rather expensive second hand door lock (I was told the whole unit) at $250. Anyway I took their word for it and asked them to carry out the work. I was told it would be done that day.

    They apparently had a few issues getting the old lock out and subsequently it took around 2 days to do. After I got it back at the end of day two there was a part of the handle that was coming away when you pulled it. This didn't happen on the other doors and how this was missed by quality control checks is beyond me, I can only think that the mechanic gave up and thought I wouldn't notice (you would have to be blind not too).

    After the third day I got it back and was told that it was never to come out again, it had been stuck with a super strong epoxy resin (quite visible from the outside, someone with a new car would not be happy). I doubt it was originally stuck with glue like this...

    Anyway it does work now (not a very smooth action I might add), but it cost me a whopping $800.

    I was told that about 10 hours labour had to be written off, but I'm really regretting not getting a written quote.

    I was more annoyed that the part quoted at $250+GST had come to $290+GST +$20 for shipping! I was told they originally sent the wrong part but did they just add a bit more to earn a bit more $$$ out of me?

    Anyway I'm a bit of a laughing stock for paying this amount, considering myself an easy going person I feel I've been a bit taken advantage of.

    I found that being someone without a car for a few days I was not well kept up to date with its progress, I had to chase to find out what was happening.

    I'm sure that 99% of their customers have a good experience, it seems that I on this occasion was the 1%.

    Rating by: Max  |  Rating posted: 16th Aug, 2015  |  Contact: Stuart Dean  |  Job date: Aug, 2015
    Communication: 60%  |  Quality: 30%  |  Reliability: 20%  |  Value: 10%
    Max16th Aug, 2015More details…
  • 100%
    "I was really happy with the service, the communication and the professionalism. I bought a voucher system, which has been honoured but will also be staying with these guys as they are so helpful. Don't seem to be overly expensive either.
    Thanks Sarah MacDonald
    Rating by: Sarah  |  Rating posted: 4th Jul, 2014  |  Contact: Kelvin  |  Job date: Jun, 2014
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Sarah4th Jul, 2014More details…
  • 100%
    "I've always had exceptional assistance from the team at KAAR Henderson (and their Avondale branch)
    Nothing is to much trouble and I personally like the way the actual mechanic who works on the car is the one who calls about what is being done on it rather than the boss calling, to me this speaks volumes about the levels of responsibility that each team member take in the business and that anyone can make decisions and help me if I cant get hold of the boss.
    Rating by: Matt  |  Rating posted: 25th Jul, 2013  |  Contact: Dan  |  Job date: Jul, 2013
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Matt25th Jul, 2013More details…
  • 100%
    "Good service, very efficient and very reliable."
    Rating by: Alice  |  Rating posted: 24th Jul, 2013  |  Contact: Kelvin  |  Job date: May, 2013
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Alice24th Jul, 2013More details…
  • 100%
    "As always, exceptional service.
    Really appreciated the call to explain the Warranty terms and him then attending to work that was not booked WITH a loan car.
    With a fleet of vans we need to keep maintained and on the road, I would not go past KAAR - in fact we did move away frpo a short time and soon realized the mistake we had made .
    Rating by: Deb  |  Rating posted: 24th Jul, 2013  |  Contact: Kelvin Armstrong  |  Job date: Jul, 2013
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Deb24th Jul, 2013More details…
  • 98%
    "Great friendly guys that have a wealth of knowledge. It is reasuring to have the confidence in these guys. "
    Rating by: Jeremy  |  Rating posted: 14th Nov, 2012  |  Contact: Daniel   |  Job date: Nov, 2012
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 90%
    Jeremy14th Nov, 2012More details…
  • 100%
    "Note - this rating is for their Warrant of Fitness inspection service, not a car repair or service. Excellent, easy experience, and because of their loyalty card (3rd WOF free) it didn\'t actually cost me anything! "
    Rating by: Heather  |  Rating posted: 14th Nov, 2012  |  Contact: Daniel  |  Job date: Sep, 2012
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Heather14th Nov, 2012More details…
  • 100%
    "WOW what to say ... great service, above and beyond what I have ever experienced before ... this is my second visit to this business and they are just fantastic. Clear indication of price, great communication, explained my options and did a great job. Will most definitely be going back and recommending them to others. Just fantastic!!!"
    Rating by: Christina  |  Rating posted: 26th Jul, 2012  |  Contact: Kelvin (sorry Can't Remember Mechanics Name But He Was Awesome)  |  Job date: Jul, 2012
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Christina26th Jul, 2012More details…
  • 100%
    "Our car failed on its WOF, some sort of brake balance issue. The team at Kelvin\'s fixed the problem that day. The extra service we got was great! They run the car down to VTNZ where it failed and then completed the WOF for us. This meant I did not need to waste my Saturday morning to run it through VTNZ for it WOF again. They also cleaned the glass on the inside of the headlights, and run my partner back to work when she dropped of the car."
    Rating by: Sean  |  Rating posted: 15th Nov, 2011  |  Contact: Daniel  |  Job date: Oct, 2011
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    Sean15th Nov, 2011More details…