KAAR - Henderson / Automotive servicing, repairs and mechanics in Henderson

image/svg+xml

5 Waipareira Ave,
Henderson,
0610

Ph: 09 836 5100

Email this business

Text this business

Website
kaar.co.nz

Primary contact
Stuart Dean

Postal address
5B Waipareira Ave,
Henderson,
0610

  • 80%
    "A quick thanks to Stuart and his team for their great service while sorting my car out at their Kaar Branch in Henderson.
    My '08 Mitsi Gal Fortis had a very complex issue and these guys went the extra mile to find the problem and get it sorted while keeping the costs as low as possible, I found them very knowledgeable and the terminology they used was easy to understand. My car is running superbly now and the refreshing thing about it all is I don't feel like i was ripped off in any way. Yes, I highly recommend them and i'll def go back for my next service.
    "
    Rating by: Zana  |  Rating posted: 31st Aug  |  Contact: Stuart  |  Job date: Aug, 2017
    Communication: 80%  |  Quality: 80%  |  Reliability: 80%  |  Value: 80%
    31st AugMore details…
  • 20%
    "Terrible. Avoid at all costs. Went in for a service, car is fairly new, thought it'd be no trouble. They give me a ring to let me know that they'd have to keep it overnight, LUCKILY I didn't need it the next day, so no worries. I call up the next day and ask how far through they are and whether or not I can pick it up yet. They say it's not quite ready and oh yeah, the repairs are going to cost around $1600, oh and one last little side note, we've already started without you giving permission. I feel like that's something that they should let you know about? Anyway I ask them to send me through a list of things that need repairs and give me a quote. after telling me $1600 jumps up to $2200. Nice one. I ask why some of the parts cost so much. They explain to me that some of the pieces only need replacing because the heads are worn, but you can't just replace the heads, the whole piece has to be replaced. They then proceed to charge me $800 for the work they had already done, which I managed to get lowered to $600. I get home and have a look myself. They changed the oil and two lights. For $600. Are you serious? They didn't even clean the brake pads which is an expectation. Anyway a week later I take it into another guy who looks at the pieces and says he'll just replace the heads, it's no big deal. But KAAR told me it WAS A BIG DEAL. Other guy charges me $400 for the whole job, which passes my warrant a week after with flying colours. DO NOT GO TO KAAR. Rip off artists. I could give them 0 stars I would. Disgusting business."
    Stuart Dean responded:
    "Hi Ben, Customer service and satisfaction are very important to us, and I am sorry that you feel we have not provided you with the best service. We have tried to get in contact with you multiple times through both email and phone however you have not responded. Please get in contact with us as we really want to make this right. All the best, Kelvin. "
    Rating by: Ben  |  Rating posted: 24th Jul  |  Contact: Stuart? Can't remember  |  Job date: May, 2017
    Communication: 50%  |  Quality: 10%  |  Reliability: 20%  |  Value: 0%
    24th JulMore details, one reply…
  • 30%
    "Unfortunately I am the one to tarnish Kaar Henderson's great record. I will start by saying that Stuart seems a really nice bloke and is happy to share his knowledge.

    I had a Skoda Fabia that had a dodgy back door lock, sometime it would work, sometime it wouldn't and it failed its WOF. I took it to Kaar Henderson and was originally quoted around $450 + GST for the labour including a rather expensive second hand door lock (I was told the whole unit) at $250. Anyway I took their word for it and asked them to carry out the work. I was told it would be done that day. They apparently had a few issues getting the old lock out and subsequently it took around 2 days to do. After I got it back at the end of day two there was a part of the handle that was coming away when you pulled it. This didn't happen on the other doors and how this was missed by quality control checks is beyond me, I can only think that the mechanic gave up and thought I wouldn't notice (you would have to be blind not too). After the third day I got it back and was told that it was never to come out again, it had been stuck with a super strong epoxy resin (quite visible from the outside, someone with a new car would not be happy). I doubt it was originally stuck with glue like this... Anyway it does work now (not a very smooth action I might add), but it cost me a whopping $800. I was told that about 10 hours labour had to be written off, but I'm really regretting not getting a written quote. I was more annoyed that the part quoted at $250+GST had come to $290+GST +$20 for shipping! I was told they originally sent the wrong part but did they just add a bit more to earn a bit more $$$ out of me? Anyway I'm a bit of a laughing stock for paying this amount, considering myself an easy going person I feel I've been a bit taken advantage of. I found that being someone without a car for a few days I was not well kept up to date with its progress, I had to chase to find out what was happening. I'm sure that 99% of their customers have a good experience, it seems that I on this occasion was the 1%."

    Rating by: Max  |  Rating posted: 16th Aug, 2015  |  Contact: Stuart Dean  |  Job date: Aug, 2015
    Communication: 60%  |  Quality: 30%  |  Reliability: 20%  |  Value: 10%
    16th Aug, 2015More details…
  • 100%
    "I was really happy with the service, the communication and the professionalism. I bought a voucher system, which has been honoured but will also be staying with these guys as they are so helpful. Don't seem to be overly expensive either.
    Thanks Sarah MacDonald
    "
    Rating by: Sarah  |  Rating posted: 4th Jul, 2014  |  Contact: Kelvin  |  Job date: Jun, 2014
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    4th Jul, 2014More details…
  • 100%
    "I've always had exceptional assistance from the team at KAAR Henderson (and their Avondale branch)
    Nothing is to much trouble and I personally like the way the actual mechanic who works on the car is the one who calls about what is being done on it rather than the boss calling, to me this speaks volumes about the levels of responsibility that each team member take in the business and that anyone can make decisions and help me if I cant get hold of the boss.
    FIVE STARS
    "
    Rating by: Matt  |  Rating posted: 25th Jul, 2013  |  Contact: Dan  |  Job date: Jul, 2013
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    25th Jul, 2013More details…
  • 100%
    "Good service, very efficient and very reliable."
    Rating by: Alice  |  Rating posted: 24th Jul, 2013  |  Contact: Kelvin  |  Job date: May, 2013
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    24th Jul, 2013More details…
  • 100%
    "As always, exceptional service.
    Really appreciated the call to explain the Warranty terms and him then attending to work that was not booked WITH a loan car.
    With a fleet of vans we need to keep maintained and on the road, I would not go past KAAR - in fact we did move away frpo a short time and soon realized the mistake we had made .
    "
    Rating by: Deb  |  Rating posted: 24th Jul, 2013  |  Contact: Kelvin Armstrong  |  Job date: Jul, 2013
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    24th Jul, 2013More details…
  • 98%
    "Great friendly guys that have a wealth of knowledge. It is reasuring to have the confidence in these guys. "
    Rating by: Jeremy  |  Rating posted: 14th Nov, 2012  |  Contact: Daniel   |  Job date: Nov, 2012
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 90%
    14th Nov, 2012More details…
  • 100%
    "Note - this rating is for their Warrant of Fitness inspection service, not a car repair or service. Excellent, easy experience, and because of their loyalty card (3rd WOF free) it didn\'t actually cost me anything! "
    Rating by: Heather  |  Rating posted: 14th Nov, 2012  |  Contact: Daniel  |  Job date: Sep, 2012
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    14th Nov, 2012More details…
  • 100%
    "WOW what to say ... great service, above and beyond what I have ever experienced before ... this is my second visit to this business and they are just fantastic. Clear indication of price, great communication, explained my options and did a great job. Will most definitely be going back and recommending them to others. Just fantastic!!!"
    Rating by: Christina  |  Rating posted: 26th Jul, 2012  |  Contact: Kelvin (sorry Can't Remember Mechanics Name But He Was Awesome)  |  Job date: Jul, 2012
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    26th Jul, 2012More details…
  • 100%
    "Our car failed on its WOF, some sort of brake balance issue. The team at Kelvin\'s fixed the problem that day. The extra service we got was great! They run the car down to VTNZ where it failed and then completed the WOF for us. This meant I did not need to waste my Saturday morning to run it through VTNZ for it WOF again. They also cleaned the glass on the inside of the headlights, and run my partner back to work when she dropped of the car."
    Rating by: Sean  |  Rating posted: 15th Nov, 2011  |  Contact: Daniel  |  Job date: Oct, 2011
    Communication: 100%  |  Quality: 100%  |  Reliability: 100%  |  Value: 100%
    15th Nov, 2011More details…

Primary contact
Stuart Dean

Phone number
09 836 5100

Phone number (alternative)
0800522734

Website
www.kaar.co.nz

Availability
This week/ASAP

Physical address
5 Waipareira Ave,
Henderson,
0610

Postal address
5B Waipareira Ave,
Henderson,
0610

About us
KAAR is an award winning business, Westpac best small business 2010 and 2012, We are a MTA Member, we offer 12 months 20,000km warrenty to ALL repairs, Unless otherwise specified. We also offer a Auckland Wide Mobile Service.

What we do
WOF, All vehicle Servicing, Maintenance and repair. Mechanical and Electrical, Fuel injection repairs, Brakes, Clutches, Tyres, Cooling systems, radiators, water pumps, Batteries. Starter motors, alternators and car valet.

Japanese & European Specialists

One stop Quality Repair shop!

Categories we service
WOF & Services, Tyres and Installation, Towbar Installation, Mobile Mechanics, Diesel Mechanics, Automotive servicing, repairs and mechanics, Automotive Parts, Automotive Brake Repair, Auto Electrical

Areas we service
Whenuapai, Westgate, West Harbour, Waitakere City, Waiatarua, Titirangi, Te Atatu, Swanson, Sunnyvale, Royal Heights, Ranui, Piha, Parau (AKL), Oratia, New Lynn, Massey, Lincoln North, Laingholm, Kelston, Karekare, Huia, Huapai, Hobsonville, Herald Island, Henderson Valley, Henderson, Green Bay, Glendene, Glen Eden, French Bay, Edmonton, Bethells Beach

Character count:

Full name of the contact person undertaking the work on behalf of this business

An email will be sent to this address to authenticate your feedback. If you don't get the email, please check your spam folder. This email address will NOT be published on NoCowboys.co.nz, provided to this business or made available to third parties

Please confirm your email

Write about your experience. The more information and details you give, the more credible to other users your rating will be. Be as descriptive as possible - there's no limit

You can only leave a rating if you have engaged this business to work for you.

Check this box if you wish to receive occasional news and prize emails from NoCowboys.co.nz